# **IUPAC 40th Congress**

# Innovation in Chemistry

August 14-19, 2005, Beijing, China

www.IUPAC-Congress05.org.cn www.ccs.ac.cn/IUPAC2005.htm

# **Plenary Lecturers**

Akira Fujishima (Japan); Alan J. Heeger (USA, Nobel Laureate); Charles M. Lieber (USA); Yuri Oganessian (Russia); Jianguo Hou (China); John E. Walker (UK, Nobel Laureate); Jiming Wang (China); Kurt Wüthrich (Switzerland, Nobel Laureate)

# **Sessions of the Congress**

- 1) Environmental Chemistry and Green Chemistry
- 2) Chemistry in the Life Sciences and in Chemical Biology
- 3) Materials Chemistry, Supermolecular Chemistry and Nanochemistry
- 4) Information Technology in Chemistry and Computational Chemistry
- 5) Innovation in Physical Chemistry and

## **Call for Papers**

Contributed papers are expected in the form of either oral or poster presentations. Participants wishing to present a paper are invited to submit an abstract of no more than one page by April 30, 2005. The abstracts in electronic format will be described in the Second Circular, together with the submission procedure.

#### Site and Date

The IUPAC 40th Congress will be held at the Beijing International Convention Center, Beijing, China on 14-19th, August 2005

## **Exhibition**

An exhibition of scientific instruments and equipment by leading manufacturers, as well as books and journals, will take place during the Conference.

#### **Tours**

Some interesting pre- or post-Congress tours and programs for accompanying persons have arranged. Visits to several cities, such as Guilin, Hangzhou, Xi'an, and Nature's wonderlands have been tentatively planned. The details can be found on our Web site.

Biophysical Chemistry, Research Methods and Techniques

- 6) Innovation in Methodology, Techniques and Instrumentation in Analytical Chemistry
- 7) Innovation in Chemical Education and Teaching Methods
- 8) Innovation in the Chemical and Petrochemical Industries and "Responsible Care" to Society

# Organized by

Chinese Chemical Society Institute of Chemistry, CAS

Organizing Committee Chairman: Chunli BAI General Secretary: Jiannian YAO Program Committee Chairman: Fu XI

#### Sponsored by:

**IUPAC** 

China Association for Science and Technology Chinese Academy of Sciences National Natural Science Foundation of China Ministry of Science and Technology of China Ministry of Education of China SINOPEC Corporation



For further information, please visit our Web site or contact secretary Prof. XibaiQiu: Tel: +86(10)62568157, +86(10)62564020; Fax: +86(10)62568157; E-mail:qiuxb@iccas.ac.cn

Pre-registration form can be downloaded from our Web site.